top of page

BBS - Week 2

BBS 3.0

Week 2 (20-21 August 2016)

Had an awesome weekend sailing again at the National Sailing Centre!

On Saturday, Darren came down to speak to us about 2 things – having a goal and having patience to see it through. Darren’s an entrepreneur who started quite a few companies over the years, as he had a dream of being able to work from the comforts of his laptop and phone anywhere in the world. He didn’t want a desk-bound office job and that was it. That was his goal. I really admire him for his ability to get over all his failures along the way, and to be able to stick with what he had planned right from the start. I feel that often times, it is very easy to do what society wants us to do and to do what is “glamorous” and has prestige. It is indeed very tough to take an unconventional route and to persevere in this journey, especially when you may not have the support of your peers and family. He also spoke about needing to have the patience to wait for results. We often want results immediately. For example, when we learn sailing, we want to be able to sail immediately. When we join a company, we want to be able to have real responsibilities and produce results immediately. However, it’s like trying to run before you can even walk. I think this resonates with me because I’m someone who is very driven, and I want to reach my goal fast. I feel that it is important for me to realize this, and to constantly remind myself of the need to have patience. Darren also added on that patience is not infinite, and hence, it is important for us to also establish a timeline for our goals. Good advice to keep in mind.

On the sailing side, we learnt:

  • Gybing

  • Knots – Figure of 8, Sheet-bend, Bowline, and something else which I forgot the name

  • Rules of sailing

  • Points of sail – Reach, Closed-hull etc

The wind conditions this week were great! On Saturday, we really got to practice a lot of what we wanted to do, and I finally realized some of my mistakes that I was making the previous week! Last week, I always didn’t do a complete tack as I didn’t move and hold the rudder long enough. Felt super good to find out your own mistakes instead of someone telling you! On Sunday, it was raining in the morning, but weather cleared out nicely and we got to sail a lot as well. Really enjoyed myself with this bunch of people!

bottom of page