top of page

Warsaw Rising From The Ashes

Warsaw (5-7 June 2016)

I initially had zero expectations for Warsaw, because I heard it's really boring and there's nothing to do. Haha, the only reason why I went there was because I booked my flight from Warsaw to London, so I got to go to Warsaw regardless. However, it turned out to be different from what I expected! I really enjoyed Warsaw :)

Warsaw was almost completely destroyed by the Nazis during World War II, and so, I had expected the city to look boring. However, they have reconstructed the Old Town very well, and it's even on the UNESCO. Even though it's not the original Old Town, it still has the vibe of one, and it looks pretty too! Doesn't really bother me that it's not original.

I have started to fall in love with walking tours and so... I did a total of 4 walking tours in Warsaw - Old Town, Jewish, Alternative and Warsaw at War.

The Old Town Walking Tour covered the Royal Castle, Main Market Square, City Walls and the Barbican, Monument of Warsaw Uprising, Krakowskie Przedmiescie street, Presidential Palace and Warsaw University.

The Jewish Walking Tour covered the former area of Warsaw Ghetto, building of the Museum of the History of Polish Jews, Ghetto Heroes Monument.

Alternative Jewish Walking Tour was really interesting to me because they brought us to the district of Praga where we saw the catholic, orthodox, and Jewish temples, old buildings and backyards, street art, and a market which was used during communist times (which seems to be dying out now).

Warsaw at War focuses more on explaining the period of Warsaw history during the German-Soviet invasion of 1939 and the Warsaw Uprising of 1944.

Oh yes, my baggage made it to 10kg for the check-in for Wizz Air! :D I have 15kg allowance actually, but only 10kg worth of things. Haha, guess I managed to get rid of quite a lot of things along the way, which is good!!!


bottom of page