top of page

Krakow - Full of History and One of my Favourite Cities to Visit!

26 May - 29 May 2016

Took a 630am bus from Budapest and arrived in Krakow at 130pm after an 8 hours ride. I didn't want to change my currency at the train station, so I walked to the Old Town and changed my money there. Had an ice-cream as well before I went off to Barbara's place to drop my bags. Decided to make it in time for the 4pm Old Town Walking Tour by FreeWalkingTour.com which I think it's the best free walking tour company in Europe (out of all those that I have experienced)!

For the Old Town Walking Tour, it basically followed the "Royal Way" which covered the major sights, starting from St. Florian's Gate and the Barbican and ending at the Wawel Castle. The Royal Route is the historical coronation path of Polish kings when Krakow was the capital city from the 14th to 16th century. Some of the main sights along the Royal Route included the main market square (Rynek), Cloth Hall (Sukiennice), St. Mary Basilica.

On 27 May, second day in Krakow, I visited the Auschwitz Camp (on my own, without a guided tour). This is possible if you arrive either before 10am or after 3pm, as guided tours are necessary during the time period from 10am-3pm. Obviously, I went before 10am since I'm usually an early bird when I'm travelling! I think I made the right choice by going there on my own without a guided tour, because it allows you the flexibility and time to slowly look at all the exhibitions. For the guided tour, it's quite rushed and you wouldn't be able to stop and take a look at the things that you're interested in. You simply have to keep moving with the group. Entrance is free so all I had to pay was for the transportation fees.

The Auschwitz Camp, as everyone would already know, was used as a concentration camp by the Nazis. It was really a different feeling, learning about the history of World War II through seeing these places and looking at the exhibitions, as compared to what we learn in our textbooks. I remembered whenever we learn about World War II history in school, the focus was very much on how it affected Singapore, but we don't learn about what really happened elsewhere in the world. Furthermore, being at the place itself where millions of people were killed, gave an emotional connection that you wouldn't get it if you aren't here yourself. I guess my takeaway from this trip to Auschwitz was really realizing the importance of learning our history, and not taking peace for granted.

When I came back from Auschwitz, I did the Jewish Walking Tour at 430pm. The tour started at the Old Synagogue on Szeroka Street, in the Kazimierz District. Met a Singaporean on the walking tour - Victor, and we had dinner together at Polakowski Restaurant which was one of the places that was recommended by the tour company for cheap and good local food! Tried Bigos (traditional stew from sauerkraut with chunks of meat and sausage) as well as smoked pork knuckle. The food was good for the price! :)

On my third day, I went to Wielickza Salt Mines on my own as well, without the guided tour. There's actually 2 routes that you can possibly do - Tourist Route and Miner's Route. I am so glad I did the Miner's Route because it allows you to learn more about the life of a miner, and to try out some of the activities as well, inside the mines. This gives you a more realistic picture of what it is really like to be working and living in the mines. The Tourist Route, on the other hand, has nice salt sculptures and would be good for photo taking. Not the kind of thing I would be interested in.

By the way, I really love Wielickza as well! It's such a nice little city/town. I like the feeling of walking around such small towns because it's just different! Away from tourists (which I am unfortunately one of them), and just experiencing the place. When I came back, I met Victor for dinner again, and we had it at Kuchnia U Doroty. Yay to cheap and good food!!! Cheap and good food really helps in me enjoying the place a lot more :)

On my last day in Krakow, I didn't really had anything in mind that I wanted to do as I felt that I have actually seen most of Krakow! Ended up walking to Rakowicki Cemetery which has nice sculptures and momuments to look at. Spent the rest of the day chilling at Galeria Krakowska, the shopping mall beside the train/bus station.

Overall, I really enjoyed Krakow! Got to do a variety of things such as understanding more about the place and its history (through the 2 walking tours), visiting Auschwitz Camp, visiting a underground salt mine in Wielickza and just spending time chilling and eating good food! :)


bottom of page