top of page

Working @ Ritz Carlton for F1 event

Did some part-time work over the F1 week at Ritz Carlton! It was a fun experience as it was my first time doing a part-time job that isn't internship related. Ever since after A lvls, all the jobs that I did were internships and I never got to do any of such stuff before! I'm glad I had the opportunity to do this. The work shifts were crazily long (12 hours) from 6pm to 6am. Surprisingly, I didn't feel tired. I think my stamina is really damn good after running so much in the gym! Haha, I didn't feel tired from standing as well! Gymming really helps :)

Some of the interesting things that I got to observe/learn there (without mentioning the exact details cause it's not that appropriate to do so):

- Working culture

- How the management and leadership style differs across individuals

- Behavior of guests

- Operations and how it could have been improved

- Control systems that could have been in placed

- How different employees react differently under stress

- Some of employees' concerns by talking to the Auntie working there

On a side note, one reason why I really enjoyed doing this was because I absolutely love multi-tasking and I think I do a great job at it :P I love how I got to multi-task between taking orders, keying them in, sending them to kitchen, serving guests, interacting with guests, billing, cashiering etc! Oh and, the people that were working together with me (full-timers and part-timers were nice! :))

Dress was a little too tight for me! Time to gymmmm more often!!!

Could watch the F1 cars race by from the overhead bridge!


bottom of page