top of page

Freezing cold in Nuwara Eliya

Nuwara Eliya is in the Central Province in Sri Lanka, located at an altitude of 1868 metres above sea level. The weather there is really cold and it gets to around 15 degrees celcius at night! Mornings and nights are cold but during the day, it's rather sunny so it doesn't feel cold! :)

I also tried out horse riding at the Nuwara Eliya Racecourse which was fun! Haha, I didn't really intend to do it, but the guy approached me and asked me if I want to ride the horse for 1000 rupees. I said no, too expensive and he asked how much I was willing to pay. I said 350 rupees HAHAHAHA. And we ended up settling on a final price of 400 rupees! LOL. He was really good at getting me to pay extra though so in the end, I paid him 500 rupees which was still really worth it for the ride! It's a little scary though because I was afraid I would fall off the horse and break my back!

The guy passed me a stick and told me to whip the horse. I really couldn't bear to hit it though! It just feels so cruel!

Started raining halfway while I was riding the horse

We also explored other areas around Nuwara Eliya town. Nuwara Eliya is also a lot cleaner than the other areas in Sri Lanka, and they actually have dustbins around which is EXTREMELY RARE in Sri Lanka. There's lots of horse and cow poop around on the streets though!

Visited the Nuwara Eliya Post Office and I sent out some postcards as well! The post office is really pretty and it's right in the centre of the town, opposite the bus station.

Nuwara Eliya Post Office

Nuwara Eliya Golf Club (for the rich!!!)

Gregory Lake

Outside our guest house - Sunshine Inn

The owner was really nice and we kinda had the whole house to ourselves!

Random horses on the walk back to our guest house

We also hiked up Single Tree Hill which got us a nice panoramic view of Nuwara Eliya! It was quite a crazy climb up as there was no proper trail. Everyone was giving us different directions (because there's probably many different small routes up). We ended up taking a "local route" which had us cut through the plantations. Going out was a lot easier because we managed to get to the main road with the houses and walk down on a proper path!

Panoramic view of Nuwara Eliya from Single Tree Hill

Adma Agro Strawberry Farm Shop which had their own strawberry farm right in front of the shop!

bottom of page