top of page

Admiring tea plantations from Lipton's Seat

Woke up early (as usual) and we took the bus outside our Samadhi Guest Inn at about 6.10 a.m. to Bandarawela where we changed a bus to Haputale. From Haptula, we had to take another bus to Dambatenne Tea Factory. Over here, we paid 250 rupees for a tour around the tea factory. I felt that it was rather good because I read on tripadvisor that it depends on whether you get a good guide or not as some of them may not be able to explain well in English. I felt that our guide was pretty good! He gave us an explanation of the entire tea manufacturing process which was interesting!

After the factory tour, we shared a tuktuk with our new friend, Kim from South Korea. Met her on the bus and as she was travelling alone, it was perfect for the 3 of us to share a tuktuk up to Lipton's Seat. We got a really good price (600 rupees) for the tuktuk from Dambatenne Tea Factory to Lipton's Seat, including waiting time!!!I It's only 200 rupees per person for the ride! And wow, this ride is the most worth it in my entire Sri Lankan trip! I absolutely loveeeee Lipton's Seat and I think the scenery is just stunning. It's the best I've seen and just enjoying a cup of tea at the top is just so relaxing!!! I feel like I could stay there forever and I really didn't want to leave!

bottom of page