top of page

Gliding around Colombo

We didn't plan any activities for today as we wanted to stay in Misuki Hotel to catch up on our work and rest. However, my new friend, Ursula, whom I met on the bus the previous day, asked if I would like to go out around Colombo. I decided to head out even though I was feeling extremely lazy!

When we got to Colombo, we decided to go to Dutch Hospital as our first stop. We happened to see a group of people trying out Ninebot, which is a self-balancing device by Segway that allows you to just stand on it and ride around! I've seen them around in Singapore (in Sentosa) and in Taiwan as well! However, I have never tried it before.

It was the first time Ursula have seen such a device before. She asked the guy who was promoting the devices whether we could try them out. Kapila, who is working for Amazing Adventures SL, very kindly allowed us to try it out and taught us how to ride on it! This machine is super easy to ride and it took us less than 5 minutes to be comfortable riding it!

I thought my riding experience would be limited to those few precious minutes, but I was wrong! Kapila is a super easy-going and fun guy who told us that he could bring us around for free by riding on the Ninebot! Whoohooo guess it's my lucky day then! :)

We went around the area covering Galle Face, President's House and the Light House on these devices! It's so much more relaxing and fun as compared to walking! The company that Kapila is working for - Amazing Adventures Sri Lanka - do guided tours on these Ninebot devices. It's really innovative and you'll be paying for not just riding these devices, but also for the guided tour (an explanation of the history of the place). I've visited these places before previously but this time, I had a much better understanding of the history and developments behind these places after Kapila explained them to us! It's really cool and innovative to combine these 2 (riding the devices and a guided tour) together! It's definitely a lot more fun than hiring a tuktuk driver to bring you around.

First few minutes of trying out Ninebot! You can tell how excited I am haha

Breezing through Galle Face

Ursula, Kapila and me

We had lunch at TGI Friday nearby. The restuarant has a nice vibe to it and it's a good place to chill! :)

After lunch, we headed off to race course, independence square and arcade!

Independence Square

Racecourse

Arcade

bottom of page